Social Media… social my ass!

Ivan on a deserted Island in the Lau Group (Fiji)

I’ve tried Myspace..
ok I was creating music, but there were more people interested in me listen to them than the one I could listen to each day.

I’ve tried Twitter..

..and the most I read about is troubles happening around the world and people spreading words about it. I read the news too, you know!

I’ve tried Bebo..

..and all I’ve found is that people has nothing to say.. so they upload pics.. with no sense.

I’m on facebook..
..Facebook is cool.. Can play tennis with words.. I like that. Can say a thought and converse with your old fellas. But who are all these new ones that sends me friends requests and say nothing?

At this stage I must have missed the point!
How social are these social medias for an Italian guy who lives in Fiji that doesn’t know anybody famous in his area and (eventually) doesn’t sell anything?

I understand, 2010 is the year that the web goes local, but I don’t want to!
I like the web as international as it was. I liked to used google looking for a local pizzeria and found 100 in Korea.
Maybe I really am an unsocial animal with 2 legs , 2 arms, etc, but I like to have fun and be positive… thinking!

Living in a place like Fiji is such a strange thing for an Italian guy. It is like closing Einstein in a cage filled with Giraffes. Imagine that… Yes, Giraffes! (and whoever want to start a discussion about this is welcome).

It is like those days in life where you say something and who listens to you goes “eeehhh..” or “dahhh” . .. isn’t it?

This blog of mine wants to be like the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.. explaining how to overtake little events in a personal way on a road full of broken glasses thinking that it’s still sunday morning (or is it?).

For this first post I leave it to you. Talk about it, i’ll talk with you. Criticize it, i’ll criticize you. Swim against this, I’ll build a damn. Offend this, well, I’ve said enough. Isn’t this the communication era?

So, social and suicidal people (who watched Avatar) have a good night from the other side of the world.
..and be social.. with your neighborhood!

Lord Ivanet


Leave a comment